Timeline of the American Civil War: Major Battles and Events

View the American Civil War chronology, which includes information about the conflict’s beginnings at Fort Sumter and its conclusion at Appomattox. Learn about the great wars and occasions that defined this crucial period in American history.

1861Fort Sumter, First Bull Run
1862Shiloh, Antietam, Fredericksburg
1863Gettysburg, Vicksburg, Chattanooga
1864Wilderness, Atlanta, Petersburg
1865Five Forks, Appomattox
1862Seven Pines, Second Bull Run
1863Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg
1864Wilderness, Spotsylvania, Cold Harbor
1864-65Siege of Petersburg
1862Fort Donelson, Shiloh
1863Stones River, Chickamauga
1864Atlanta Campaign, Nashville
1865Mobile Bay, Bentonville
1862Emancipation Proclamation
1863Gettysburg Address
1865Lee’s Surrender at Appomattox Court House, Assassination of Abraham Lincoln
1861Wilson’s Creek, Fort Henry
1862Shiloh, Perryville
1863Stones River, Chattanooga
1864Atlanta Campaign, Franklin
1865Mobile Bay, Selma
1862Emancipation Proclamation, Battle of Fredericksburg
1863Gettysburg Address, Draft Riots in New York City
1864Sherman’s March to the Sea, Election of Abraham Lincoln
1865Lee’s Surrender at Appomattox Court House, Assassination of Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top 10 Marketing Strategies for Small Business Owners Top 7 Attribute of Successful Entrepreneurs Top 10 Strategies for Growing Your Business in 2023 Top 5 Trends in Entrepreneurship for 2023 Top 7 Tips to Building a Winning Startup Team Top 10 Lessons Learned from Failed Startups